Urukundwa (You Are Loved)

(null)

Let me love you

Stubbornly

Persistently

Relentlessly

Allow me to love you

Stubbornly

Irrationally

Please let me love you

Stubbornly

It’s hard to hold on

It’s hard to keep trying

But harder to let go

Stubbornly

 

Once I waited for an

Invitation

But the door was only halfway

Open

Let me love you

Stubbornly

Patiently

I’m no longer waiting for an

Invitation

No longer asking I’m

Telling

Seeking

Let me love you

Stubbornly

 

Close your heart to the world and

Seal off your soul

Make kindness invasive

Corrosive

Empathy, connection

Intruders, intruders

Contentedly misunderstood

Let me love you

Stubbornly

 

I can’t free you

I can’t break your chains

No amount of good intentions can

Shoulder your pain

Imprisoned in grief

Reject solitary confinement

I will reject it for you

Let me love you

Stubbornly

Relentlessly

It’s hard to keep trying

Hard to keep fighting

But harder to stop

 

Let me love you

Stubbornly

My own chains have been

Broken

In fact they’re still

Breaking

No one waited for an

Invitation

The door was only halfway

Open

Heart, soul emergent

From isolation’s hibernation

Unsolicited invasion

Kindess, empathy, connection

Intrusive love

 

Let me love you

Stubbornly

Because I’ve been loved

Stubbornly

Persistently

Relentlessly

Irrationally

Let me love you

Stubbornly

As I have been stubbornly loved.

 “You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous person, though for a good person someone might possibly dare to die. But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:6-8)

 

Leave a Reply

