Gusinzira (To Sleep)

In Kinyarwanda, the word “itkibazo” means both “problem(s)” and “question(s).”

Sabyinyo Rwaza

Dufite itkibazo

We have problems

We have questions

One word with

Two meanings

Questions become problems

Only when they go unasked

 

And we live in contradictions

And we move in contradictions

And we breathe in contradictions

A state of being, contradiction

And we find coherence

Only when we sleep

 

Privilege, mutual exclusion

Offer you a seat at the table

But I’d have to relinquish

Mine

Living contradictions

 

Moving contradictions

Love my country, like a brother

Criticize him ruthlessly

Though he makes me angry

We’ll both take each other back

Native

We’re the first we had

Breathing contradictions

 

State of being, contradiction

Faith in contradictions

Love manifest in contradiction

How the author of perfection

Curator of cohesion

Died for our contradictions

 

State of being, contradiction

I protest war

I pray for peace

Citizenship, bathed in blood

And we export our contradictions

Manufacture cohesion at home

Outsourced contradictions

Reflected in explosive tension

Contradictory humanity

Unanimous

Live, move, breathe

 

Live, move breathe

State of being, contradiction

Blessed cohesion

Elusive but for sleep.

Tell me that I’m beautiful

Afford me disbelief.

Living, moving, breathing

Hold my door not because

I’m a woman but because I’m a

Person

Valuable in contradictions

Living, moving, breathing

Contradictions

Dufite itkibazo

We’ll find the answers in our sleep.

 

“’For in Him we live and move and have our being.’” (Acts 17:28a NIV)

 

Leave a Reply

